top of page

Award Categories

1. AI in Health

2. AI in Mining

3. AI in Law

4. AI in Finance

5. AI in Agribusiness and Rural Development

6. AI in Cyber Security

7. AI in Education

8. AI in Defence and Intelligence

9. AI in Infrastructure

10. AI in Manufacturing

11. AI in Creative Industries

12. AI in Sport

13. AI in Climate

14. AI in Environment and Biodiversity

15. AI in Space

16. AI in Humanitarian Action

17. AI in Innovation

18. Communicating AI

The winner from each award category will be entered into judging for the

following top awards...


$50,000 Prize Pool

Grand Award

'APAC WAI Innovator of the Year'


Winner - $15,000

First runner-up - $12,000

Second runner-up - $9,000

'APAC WAI Trailblazer' - $7,000 

'APAC Cultural Leadership in AI' - $7,000

Who can Apply?

Women who are working, leading, researching, creating or

innovating in AI in the following sectors:

- Industry

- Government

- Universities

- Research Institutes

- Startups

- NGOs

WAI Awards 2023 APAC

WAI Awards 2023 will honour the top Women in AI in the Asia-Pacific

the pioneers who are taking the road less travelled; the women who are paving

the way for others to reach even further and to dare to dream even bigger.

Committed to supporting and rewarding excellence to Women in AI, the WAI

Awards 2023 will be prestigious in their recognition and vital in building the

credibility and exposure for Women in AI in the Asia-Pacific.



National Artificial Intelligence Centre
will present

Grand Award Winner


WAI Innovator of the Year


Lockheed-Martin-Australia blue.png

Lockheed Martin Australia

will present

first runner-up

WAI Innovator of the Year


Monash Data Futures Institute

will present

WAI Trailblazer Award


New South Wales Government

will present

second runner-up

WAI Innovator of the Year


National Australia Bank

will present


Cultural Leadership in AI Award

The Event

The highly anticipated and spectacular invite-only WAI Awards 2023 Gala Dinner and

Awards Ceremony will be held in Sydney on 16 June 2023. Located in the heart of Gadigal Land,

the iconic Art Gallery of New South Wales stunningly blends landscape, architecture and art to set a magnificent stage for this memorable event.

The Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony will be hosted by actor and presenter Julia Zemiro.

VIP pre-dinner Soirée


An exclusive VIP pre-dinner Soirée will be held in the 20th Century Galleries for the VIP Guests of the Premier, Principal and Lead Partners together with the Award finalists and a curated invitation list of Guests of Honour.

WAI Awards Ceremony

For the first time, a separate Awards Ceremony will be held. The Domain Theatre, a stunning cinematic auditorium will set the stage for the presentation of each category award and the announcement of the coveted Asia-Pacific WAI Innovator of the Year Award.

Gala Dinner

The exceptional WAI Awards 2023 Gala Dinner will be held in the

Gallery’s Entrance Court. Surrounded by a display of the best of international and Australian art, the visually spectacular arena creates a unique space where the 350 guests from the AI and business community can network and celebrate in recognition of the winners and finalists of the WAI Women in AI Awards. 

The Art Gallery of NSW

VIP pre-dinner Soirée
20th Century Galleries
WAI Awards Ceremony 
The Domain Theatre
Gala Dinner
Gallery’s Entrance Court
WAI23-Logo2-RGB-BG_NA-Light Orange.png

Andra Müller

Founder and Director

+61 400 388 846

Follow us!
  • Linkedin
  • Twitter

Facilitated and

produced by

jewelrock logo website.png

Previous Editions

WAI Awards 2021

Australia - New Zealand

awasrds 2021 image.jpeg
WAI Awards 2021 ANZ Winners

R - The Hon Julie Bishop - Patron WAI Awards

L - Prof Joanna Batstone - Director, MDFI

WAI Awards 2022

Australia - New Zealand

WAI Awards 2022 ANZ Winners
R - 
Prof Joanna Batstone - Director, MDFI
C - Dr Tony Lindsay - Director, STELaRLab
L - Dr Amanda Caples - Lead Scientist, Victorian Government
bottom of page